Adam Guettel

Born Dec 16, 1964

Adam Guettel is an American composer-lyricist of musical theater and opera . He is best known for the musical The Light in the Piazza, for which he won two Tony Awards, for Best Score and Best Orchestrations, and two Drama Desk Awards, for Best Music and Best Orchestrations.… Read More

related links

News + Updates

Browse recent news and stories about Adam Guettel.


Learn about the memorable moments in the evolution of Adam Guettel.


1964 Birth Guettel was born December 16, 1964 to film executive Henry Guettel and writer/composer Mary Rodgers, daughter of famed composer Richard Rodgers, and was raised on the Upper West Side of New York City. … Read More


1987 22 Years Old He attended Phillips Exeter Academy, School Year Abroad (SYA France), Interlochen Center for the Arts and graduated from Yale University in 1987.


1996 31 Years Old His early works include 1996's Floyd Collins, Love's Fire, and Saturn Returns (which was recorded as Myths and Hymns). … Read More
1999 34 Years Old In 1999, he performed a concert evening of his own work at New York's Town Hall.
2004 39 Years Old In 2004, Guettel contributed vocals to Jessica Molaskey's P.S. Classics album Make Believe, dueting with Molaskey on the song "Glad To Be Unhappy."


After six years working on the project, Guettel's musical The Light in the Piazza opened on Broadway in 2005.
As of January 2007, Guettel had written the music for ten songs for the project. … Read More
2014 49 Years Old 1 More Event
In 2014, Guettel married "sinewy chanteuse" Haley Bond in St. John, USVI.
Original Authors of this text are noted on
Text is made available under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License.