Bob Glidden

Racing Driver
Born 1944

Bob Glidden is an American drag racer. He was retired from Pro Stock racing in 1997 and returned in 2010. Glidden retired as the driver with the most wins in National Hot Rod Association (NHRA) history at that time (a feat recently topped by 15 time Funny Car champion John Force), and he is currently the third most successful drag racer (85 National Event wins) in the history of the NHRA behind Warren Johnson (97) and John Force (132).… Read More

related links

News + Updates

Browse recent news and stories about Bob Glidden.


Learn about the memorable moments in the evolution of Bob Glidden.


1944 Birth Born in 1944.


1968 24 Years Old In 1968 he changed to a 428 Cobra Jet Mustang. … Read More
He was a frequent winner in Division 3 before turning Pro in 1972. … Read More


1974 30 Years Old 1 More Event
He beat Gapp in the event finals. 1974 was his second full season in Pro Stock. … Read More
1977 33 Years Old He finished second in 1977 behind Don Nicholson.
1978 34 Years Old Glidden returned for his third Winston title in 1978. … Read More
1979 35 Years Old Glidden retired his undefeated Ford Fairmont in 1979 in favor of a Plymouth Arrow. … Read More
1981 37 Years Old Shepherd won the 1981 to 1984 Pro Stock championships.


1984 - 1985 2 More Events
1987 43 Years Old In 1987 Glidden won eight races including his 60th national win. … Read More
1988 44 Years Old 1 More Event
His two season streak ended at the 1988 Gator Nationals with 22 straight top qualifiers.
1989 45 Years Old Glidden dominated to win his tenth and final championship in 1989. … Read More


1995 51 Years Old He won his 85th and final national event at the Mopar Nationals in 1995, after missing most of the 1995 season due to open heart surgery during the off season. … Read More
1998 54 Years Old He returned to the driver's seat for Steve Schmidt's team at the 1998 U.S. Nationals, but he failed to qualify for the event that he won nine times.


2005 61 Years Old He was inducted into the International Motorsports Hall of Fame in 2005. … Read More
Original Authors of this text are noted on
Text is made available under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License.