Born Oct 21, 1939

Helen Jairag Richardson is an Indian film actress and dancer of Anglo-Burmese descent, working in Hindi films. She is often cited as the most popular dancer of the item number in her time. She was the inspiration for four films and a book.

related links


Learn about the memorable moments in the evolution of Helen.


1938 Birth Helen Ann Richardson was born on 21 November 1938 in Rangoon, Burma to an Anglo-Indian father and Burmese mother. … Read More


1957 18 Years Old In a documentary called Queen of the Nautch girls, Helen said she was 19 years old in 1957 when she got her first big break in Howrah Bridge. … Read More
1958 19 Years Old She got her break in 1958, aged 19, when she performed the song "Mera Naam Chin Chin Chu" in Shakti Samanta's film, Howrah Bridge, which was sung by Geeta Dutt. … Read More


1965 26 Years Old She was nominated for the Filmfare Best Supporting Actress Award in 1965 for her role in Gumnaam. … Read More


1981 42 Years Old In 1981, Helen married Salim Khan, a prominent Bollywood screenplay writer. … Read More
1983 44 Years Old Helen officially retired from movies in 1983, but she has since then appeared in a few guest roles such as Khamoshi: The Musical (1996) and Mohabbatein (2000). … Read More


2006 67 Years Old 1 More Event
She also appeared in Humko Deewana Kar Gaye in 2006.
2009 70 Years Old 1 More Event
Helen was selected for the Padma Shri awards of 2009 along with Aishwarya Rai and Akshay Kumar.
2014 75 Years Old On 18 November 2014, Arpita married Aayush Sharma, a Delhi-based businessman who is the son of Anil Sharma, a minister in the government of Himachal Pradesh and the grandson of Sukh Ram, a former union cabinet minister; both the politicians belong to the Indian National Congress party. … Read More
2016 77 Years Old On 30 March 2016, Arpita and Aayush Sharma were blessed with a baby boy, who they named Ahil Sharma; he may be counted as Helen's sixth grandchild.
Original Authors of this text are noted on
Text is made available under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License.