Lincoln Diaz-Balart

Lincoln Diaz-Balart

Born Aug 13, 1954

Lincoln Rafael Díaz-Balart was the U.S. Representative for from 1993 to 2011. He is a member of the Republican Party. He previously served in the Florida House of Representatives and the Florida Senate. He retired from Congress in 2011, and his younger brother, Mario Diaz-Balart, succeeded him.… Read More

related links

News + Updates

Browse recent news and stories about Lincoln Diaz-Balart.


Learn about the memorable moments in the evolution of Lincoln Diaz-Balart.


1954 Birth Born on August 13, 1954.


1982 27 Years Old In 1982, he ran for a Florida House of Representatives seat for District 113 as a Democrat and lost to the Republican, Humberto Cortina. … Read More


1985 30 Years Old On April 24, 1985, Diaz-Balart along with his wife and brother Mario switched their registration to Republican. … Read More
1992 37 Years Old In 1992, Diaz-Balart defeated fellow State Senator Javier Souto in the Republican primary for the newly created 21st District. … Read More
1994 39 Years Old He was unopposed for reelection in 1994, 1996, 2000 and 2002 and defeated an underfunded Democrat, Patrick Cusack, with 75 percent in 1998.


2004 49 Years Old 1 More Event
In both 2004 and 2006, Lincoln Diaz-Balart was unsuccessfully challenged by Frank J. Gonzalez, a Libertarian Party candidate in 2004 and Democrat in 2006.


2006 51 Years Old 1 More Event
In 2006, he voted against the Federal Marriage Amendment and in 2007 voted for the Matthew Shepard Act, which expanded the federal hate crime law to include sexual orientation and disability.
2008 53 Years Old Diaz-Balart's Democratic opponent in 2008 was former Hialeah Mayor Raul L. Martinez. … Read More
In February 2010, Diaz-Balart announced his intention to not to seek re-election. … Read More
2011 56 Years Old …  He retired from Congress in 2011 and his younger brother, Mario Diaz-Balart, who had previously represented, succeeded him. … Read More
Original Authors of this text are noted on
Text is made available under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License.