The Kooks


The Kooks are an English Indie rock band formed in Brighton, East Sussex, in 2001. Formed by Luke Pritchard, Hugh Harris, Paul Garred (drums), and Alan Lavian, the lineup of the band remained constant until 2008 and the departure of Rafferty. Dan Logan was drafted in as a temporary replacement, until Peter Denton joined the band on a permanent basis in October 2008. Early in 2010 Pritchard announced the departure of drummer Paul Garred, due to a nerve problem in his arm.… Read More

related links

News + Updates

Browse recent news and stories about The Kooks.


Learn about the memorable moments in the evolution of The Kooks.


Born in 2006.
2008 2 Years Old Rafferty was fired from the band on 31 January 2008, after a series of absences due to illness and long-standing rumours about his place in the band; drug addiction was also quoted as one of the reasons for his departure. … Read More
2009 3 Years Old …  Drummer Paul Garred left the band in late 2009, due to a nerve problem in his arm, and was temporarily replaced initially by Nicholas Millard from the band Crackout, then Chris Prendergast for live shows, and then Alexis Nunez (from Golden Silvers).
2010 4 Years Old However, Paul returned for the recording sessions in late 2010, while continuing to not tour with the band, as Pritchard recently stated his injury "turned more into a psychological thing" whereby he "feels uncomfortable playing for long periods of time" for fear of his arm "flaring up". … Read More
2011 5 Years Old In January 2011, Pritchard announced that they had recorded fourteen new tracks. … Read More
In an interview in July 2014, Pritchard stated that Listen includes more improvisation and found that “that kind of fearlessness when you make the first album kind of crept back in.” Upon its release, the album debuted at No. 16 on the UK Albums Chart, then fell to No. 57 the week after, and the next week dropped off the chart. … Read More
Original Authors of this text are noted on
Text is made available under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License.