Rafael Nadal

Tennis Player
Born Jun 3, 1986

Rafael "Rafa" Nadal Parera is a Spanish professional tennis player and a former world no. 1. As of 24 December 2012 (2012 -12-24), he is ranked no. 4 by the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP). He is regarded as one of the greatest players of all time; his success on clay has earned him the nickname "The King of Clay", and has prompted several experts to regard him as the greatest clay court player in history.… Read More

related links


Learn about the memorable moments in the evolution of Rafael Nadal.


1986 Birth Born on June 3, 1986.


2001 15 Years Old In May 2001, he defeated former Grand Slam tournament champion Pat Cash in a clay-court exhibition match. … Read More
2002 16 Years Old 1 More Event
In 2002, at the age of 16, Nadal reached the semifinals of the Boy's Singles tournament at Wimbledon, in his first ITF junior event. … Read More
2003 17 Years Old At his Wimbledon debut in 2003, Nadal became the youngest man to reach the third round since Boris Becker in 1984.
Nadal reached the third round of the 2004 Australian Open where he lost in three sets against Australian Lleyton Hewitt. … Read More
At the 2005 Australian Open, Nadal lost in the fourth round to eventual runner-up Lleyton Hewitt.


2006 - 2008 7 More Events
At the 2009 Australian Open, Nadal won his first five matches without dropping a set, before defeating compatriot Fernando Verdasco in the semifinals in the second longest match in Australian Open history at 5 hours and 14 minutes. … Read More
Unlike in previous years, Nadal next chose to skip the Barcelona tournament (despite being that event's five-time defending champion), and his next tournament was the 2010 Internazionali BNL d'Italia. … Read More
Nadal started 2011, by participating in the Mubadala World Tennis Championship in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. … Read More
As the clay court season started, Nadal was seeded 2nd at the 2012 Monte-Carlo Rolex Masters. … Read More
Two weeks prior to the 2013 Australian Open, Nadal officially withdrew from the tournament citing a stomach virus. … Read More
Nadal and Mats Wilander are the only two male players in history who have won at least two Grand Slam titles on three different surfaces—hard court, grass, and clay. By winning the 2014 French Open, Nadal became the only male player to win a single Grand Slam tournament nine times and the first to win at least one Grand Slam tournament for ten consecutive years, breaking the record of eight consecutive years previously shared by Björn Borg, Pete Sampras, and Roger Federer. … Read More
Original Authors of this text are noted on
Text is made available under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License.