Ralph Emery

Born Mar 10, 1933

Walter Ralph Emery is a country music disc jockey and television host from Nashville, Tennessee. He gained national fame hosting the syndicated television music series, Pop! Goes the Country, from 1974 to 1980 and the nightly Nashville Network television program, Nashville Now, from 1983 to 1993. Emery can currently be seen hosting the weekly program, Ralph Emery Live, on RFD-TV, a satellite and cable television channel devoted to rural American culture.… Read More

related links

News + Updates

Browse recent news and stories about Ralph Emery.


Learn about the memorable moments in the evolution of Ralph Emery.


1933 Birth Born on March 10, 1933.


1968 35 Years Old The song Drug Store Truck Drivin' Man details a moderately unpleasant on-air exchange between Emery and Roger McGuinn, the lead singer of the 1960s rock group The Byrds, concerning their 1968 appearance at The Grand Ole Opry. … Read More


1979 46 Years Old Legendary songwriter Mickey Newbury remembered Ralph Emery on his 1979 album, The Sailor, in the song The Night You Wrote That Song.


2001 68 Years Old In 2001, Emery attempted a television comeback on Nashville Fox affiliate WZTV, but only spent seven days on the air before being sidelined first by continuing coverage of the September 11 attacks and then an illness. … Read More
2005 72 Years Old In October 2005, Emery launched The Nashville Show, a free weekly webcast with Shotgun Red as co-host.
2007 74 Years Old 1 More Event
Emery was among the 2007 inductees to the Country Music Hall of Fame, and in 2010 he was ultimately inducted into the National Radio Hall of Fame, with the latter induction being replayed on Emery's current television program, Ralph Emery Live.
2011 78 Years Old As of mid-November 2011 a representative of RFDtv said that Mr. Emery was taking a break.
2015 82 Years Old RFD-TV stopped airing "Ralph Emery Live", which had been renamed "Ralph Emery's Memories", in October, 2015.
Original Authors of this text are noted on
Text is made available under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License.